UNT has four named to All-Sun Belt team (six with HMs)

UNT had four players named to the All-Sun Belt team today — six if you count the two honorable mention picks each team gets.

Offensive lineman Aaron Fortenberry was UNT’s lone first-team selection (think about that a minute). Louisiana-Monroe and South Alabama were the only other teams in the league without multiple first-team picks.

The Zacs — linebacker Zach Orr and cornerback Zac Whitfield — and punter Will Atterberry were all on the second team.

Each team gets two honorable mention picks. UNT’s were Cyril Lemon and Mason Y’Barbo.

The scary part about it for UNT is that this team didn’t have many seniors, but two of them were arguably this team’s top two players in Fortenberry and Atterberry.

It is a good sign that Whitfield made the team, though. He is essentially just getting started at cornerback.

Arkansas State’s Ryan Aplin was the Sun Belt Player of the Year and Todd Berry of Louisiana-Monroe was the Coach of the Year.

Here’s the full team — All-Sun Belt team

Comments are closed.