UNT names captains (updated with some history)

Update – Last year’s captains were Aaron Fortenberry, Derek Thompson, Zach Orr and Brandon McCoy.

UNT named its team captains for the season tonight.

They are linebacker Zach Orr, running back Brandin Byrd, safety Marcus Trice and offensive lineman Mason Y’Barbo.

Orr is not a surprise. This is his third consecutive season to serve as a captain.

None of the other picks surprise me much, either.

Byrd and Y’Barbo are highly respected among UNT players and have contributed throughout their careers.

Trice also makes sense. He is a productive player who really cares about UNT. I was talking to him yesterday and he spoke about how much he has come to love UNT. He has taken on a large role in recruiting over the last year and has sold a host of recruits on coming to UNT.

The surprise isn’t so much who was included, it was who wasn’t.

Quarterback Derek Thompson was a captain in each of the last two years.

I don’t know how much I would read into it, but it is interesting that he was left off this year.

Thompson has the respect of his teammates and coaches. I know that for a fact.

One has to wonder if the circumstances surrounding a quarterback competition that lingered up until the second scrimmage of fall practice played a role. Captains are chosen through a vote of coaches and players. Was there some lingering doubt over whether he would start?

Even head coach Dan McCarney has left the door cracked for another quarterback to play and maybe even take over the starting job at some point, although I would be shocked if Thompson doesn’t start the season-opener against Idaho.

Naming team captains usually isn’t a very interesting story.

The way it played out this time certainly raises a few questions.

Comments are closed.