All-C-USA team out, thoughts

North Texas linebacker Zach Orr was one of 12 Mean Green players named to the All-Conference USA team on Tuesday,

A few months ago, UNT was shut out when it came to placing a player on the Preseason All-Conference USA team.

The Mean Green fared a whole lot better when the postseason team came out today.

Offensive lineman Cyril Lemon, linebacker Zach Orr, safety Marcus Trice and Brelan Chancellor, who made the team both as a kick returner and punt returner, were all named to the first team.

Offensive lineman Mason Y’Barbo and defensive end Aaron Bellazin were named to the second team, as was Chancellor, who landed a spot on the team as a wide receiver.

Running back Brandin Byrd, wide receiver Darnell Smith, defensive lineman Richard Abbe, linebacker Derek Akunne and cornerback Kenny Buyers were all honorable mention picks.

Offensive lineman Kadon Kirby and punter Blake Macek were named to the C-USA All-Freshman team.

Orr and Chancellor seemed like no-brainers. They put up huge numbers. Orr was the anchor of UNT’s defense and posted 114 tackles. UNT ranks among the top 10 nationally in scoring defense at 18.1 points a game. Chancellor was a dynamic force returning kicks and punts. He capitalized on UNT’s breakout performance on special teams under Tommy Perry and posted a pretty remarkable 16.8 yards a punt return to go along with 28.1 yards a kick return.

Lemon is among UNT’s best offensive linemen.

Seeing Trice on the team is the feel-good story. He has come a long way and really capitalized on his opportunities at UNT (we will have more of his story in the next few weeks).

Aaron Bellazin also put up some big numbers at defensive end, including 7.5 sacks.

Mason Y’Barbo was one of the anchors of UNT’s offensive line.

That’s the who’s who of the team.

What is a whole lot more interesting is what the team says about how far UNT has come.

There have been all kinds of indications that UNT is headed in the right direction under Dan McCarney this year, none bigger than the fact the Mean Green finished the regular season 8-4 and is headed to the Heart of Dallas Bowl. UNT has not been to a bowl since 2004 and hasn’t won one since 2002 New Orleans Bowl.

The Mean Green broke out this season and received the rewards that usually go along with it when the all-conference team came out today.

Here’s the full list:

QB – Shane Carden, East Carolina, Jr.
RB – Charles Ross, Rice, Sr.
RB – Trey Watts, Tulsa, Sr.
OL – Stetson Burnett, Tulsa, Sr.
OL – Chris Jasperse, Marshall, Jr.
OL – Cyril Lemon, North Texas, Jr.
OL – Nate Richards, Rice, Sr.
OL – Will Simmons, East Carolina, Sr.
TE – Gator Hoskins, Marshall, Sr.
WR – Justin Hardy, East Carolina, Jr.
WR – Ryan Grant, Tulane, Sr.
WR – Tommy Shuler, Marshall, Jr.
DL – Christian Covington, Rice, So.
DL – Cory Henry, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
DL – IK Enemkpali, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
DL – James Rouse, Marshall, Sr.
DL – Julius Warmsley, Tulane, Sr.
LB – T.T. Barber, Middle Tennessee, So.
LB – Shawn Jackson, Tulsa, Sr.
LB – Zach Orr, North Texas, Sr.
DB – Lorenzo Doss, Tulane, So.
DB – Phillip Gaines, Rice, Sr.
DB – D’Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic, Jr.
DB – Marcus Trice, North Texas, Sr.
K – Cairo Santos, Tulane, Sr. P – Hunter Mullins, UAB, Jr. KR – Brelan Chancellor, North Texas, Sr. PR – Brelan Chancellor, North Texas, Sr. LS – Trevor Gillette, Rice, Sr.

QB – Rakeem Cato, Marshall, Jr.
RB – Vintavious Cooper, East Carolina, Jr.
RB – Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech, So.
OL – Jordan Davis, East Carolina, Sr.
OL – Garrett Scott, Marshall, Sr.
OL – Clint Van Horn, Marshall, So.
OL – Josh Walker, Middle Tennessee, Sr.
OL – Mason Y’Barbo, North Texas, Jr.
OL – Scott Inskeep, UTSA, Jr.
TE – Turner Petersen, Rice, Sr.
WR – Brelan Chancellor, North Texas, Sr.
WR – Jamarcus Nelson, UAB, Jr.
WR – Jordan Taylor, Rice, Jr.
DL – Aaron Bellazin, North Texas, Sr.
DL – Greg Hickman, FIU, Sr.
DL – Lee Pegues, East Carolina, Sr.
DL – Khyri Thornton, Southern Miss, Sr.
LB – Jermaine Holmes, Marshall, Jr.
LB – Derrell Johnson, East Carolina, Sr.
LB – Andrae Kirk, Florida Atlantic, Jr.
LB – Michael Kutzler, Rice, Sr.
DB – Bryce Callahan, Rice, Jr.
DB – Damon Magazu, East Carolina, Sr.
DB – Michael Mudoh, Tulsa, So.
DB – Triston Wade, UTSA, Jr.
K – Chris Boswell, Rice, Sr.
P – Sean Kelly, Florida Atlantic, So.
KR – Autrey Golden, UTEP, So.
PR – Devon Smith, Marshall, Sr.
LS – Josh Cuthbert, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
QB – Jaquez Johnson, Florida Atlantic, So.
QB – Taylor McHargue, Rice, Sr.
QB – Eric Soza, UTSA, Sr.
RB – Brandin Byrd, North Texas, Sr.
RB – Orleans Darkwa, Tulane, Sr.
RB – Jordan Howard, UAB, Fr.
RB – Darrin Reaves, UAB, Jr.
RB – Essray Taliaferro, Marshall, Sr.
OL – Mitchell Bell, Louisiana Tech, Jr.
OL – Sean Donnelly, Tulane, Jr.
OL – Adhem Elsawi, East Carolina, Sr.
OL – Cody Harris, UTSA, Jr.
OL – Kaycee Ike, UAB, Sr.
OL – Mustafa Johnson, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
OL – Braden Lyons, Florida Atlantic, Jr.
OL – Zach Morgan, Tulane, Sr.
OL – Andrew Reue, Rice, So.
OL – Matt Shepperd, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
OL – Darius Johnson, Middle Tennessee, So.
OL – Caleb Williams, Rice, So.
TE – Kennard Backman, UAB, Jr.
TE – Nexon Dorvilus, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
TE – Cole Hubble, UTSA, Jr.
TE – Jonnu Smith, FIU, Fr.
TE – Eric Tomlinson, UTEP, Jr.
TE – Bryce Williams, East Carolina, So.
WR – William Dukes, Florida Atlantic, Jr.
WR – Tyre’oune Holmes, Southern Miss, Fr.
WR – Kam Jones, UTSA, Jr.
WR – Jordan Leslie, UTEP, Jr.
WR – Daniel McKinney, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
WR – Lance Ray, East Carolina, Sr.
WR – Darnell Smith, North Texas, Sr.
WR – Reese Wiggins, East Carolina, Sr.
DL – Richard Abbe, North Texas, Sr.
DL – Cody Bauer, Rice, Sr.
DL – Alex Bazzie, Marshall, Sr.
DL – Codie Brooks, UTSA, Fr.
DL – Brandin Bryant, Florida Atlantic, So.
DL – Chris Davenport, Tulane, Sr.
DL – Justin Ellis, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
DL – Isame Faciane, FIU, Sr.
DL – Royce LaFrance, Tulane, So.
DL – Ashaad Mabry, UTSA, Jr.
DL – Ra’Shawde Myers, Marshall, Jr.
DL – Chrishon Rose, East Carolina, Jr.
DL – Robert Singletary, UTSA, Jr.
DL – Terrell Stanley, East Carolina, So.
DL – Jimmy Staten, Middle Tennessee, Sr.
DL – Diaheem Watkins, UAB, Jr.
LB – Derek Akunne, North Texas, Jr.
LB – Zeek Bigger, East Carolina, So.
LB – Daniel Cobb, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
LB – Adarius Glanton, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
LB – Steven Kurfehs, UTSA, Sr.
LB – Evan McKelvey, Marshall, Jr.
LB – Stephen Roberts, Middle Tennessee, Sr.
LB – Kyle Tudor, East Carolina, Sr.
LB – Gabe Woullard, East Carolina, Sr.
DB – Adonis Armstrong, East Carolina, Sr.
DB – Adairius Barnes, Louisiana Tech, So.
DB – Jordan Batiste, Tulane, So.
DB – Kenny Buyers, North Texas, So.
DB – Kevin Byard, Middle Tennessee, So.
DB – Jake Ganus, UAB, So.
DB – Justin Halley, FIU, Jr.
DB – Emmanuel Johnson, Southern Miss, Jr.
DB – Nic Johnston, UTSA, Jr.
DB – Lairamie Lee, North Texas, Jr.
DB – Le’Vander Liggins, Louisiana Tech, Jr.
DB – Monterius Lovett, Marshall, Jr.
DB – Christian Milstead, Florida Atlantic, Jr.
DB – Darion Monroe, Tulane, So.
DB – Bennett Okotcha, UTSA, So.
DB – Daryl Roberts, Marshall, Jr.
DB – Damian Parms, Florida Atlantic, Jr.
DB – Paul Porras, Rice, Sr.
DB – Chip Thompson, East Carolina, Sr.
DB – Corey Tindal, Marshall, Fr.
DB – Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech, Fr.
K – Kyle Fischler, Louisiana Tech, Fr.
K – Carl Salazar, Tulsa, Jr.
K – Ty Long, UAB, Jr.
P – Trent Tignor, East Carolina, Sr.
P – Josh Davis, Middle Tennessee, Sr.
P – Kristian Stern, UTSA, Jr.
KR – Jamarcus Nelson, UAB, Jr.
PR – Trey Watts, Tulsa
LS – Charlie Coggins, East Carolina, Jr.

One thought on “All-C-USA team out, thoughts

  1. Pingback: Tuesday night notes, thoughts | Mean Green Blog